Stanley Cup Champions the Year After

Facebook Share
Photo: Bill Smith/NHLI via Getty Images

2013 Los Angeles Kings

The Kings' defense of their first Stanley Cup ended in the Western Conference Finals, where they fell to eventual champion Chicago in five games. By that point, the Kings, who had steamrolled to the title in 2012, looked worn out after battling through tough series vs. St. Louis and San Jose. They struggled to score as Dustin Brown, Jarret Stoll and Mike Richards fought injuries and star center Anze Kopitar slumped. Goaltender Jonathan Quick wasn't nearly as sharp as he was when he won the 2012 Conn Smythe Trophy. And so the Detroit Red Wings remained the last team to repeat as Cup champions (1997, '98).

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: NBA Draft Yasiel Puig NHL Playoffs NBA Playoffs Mark Cuban Jabari Parker
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved. Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint